Groenslaperij de Cornelishof
The Cornelishof is an historic square-shaped farm on the edge of Roermond town. The farm has a rich history. The history of such farms can be found, amongst other things, in purchase and sales records or land lease exchanges. Thomas (Teum) Geraeds (born in 1900) described its history as follows:
“…..Cornelishof, ± 1450 owned by the Crutched Friars of Roermond.
In 1604 it was leased to Renken op ’t Malt and Lijsken his wife.
In 1655 for a period of 8 years to Johan Doeshuis and Trijne Schreurs.
1679 to Jan Stokmans and Willekum Jacobs.
1683 to Coer Coenen and Grietgen Frantzen.
In 1578 it was leased for 6 years for half of its yield to Jan Mereels and his wife Merken, he also owned it 6 years before; substantiated by a lease contract. He had to have 29 sheep, 10 to 12 milk cows and 5 good calves or more. The farmer also had to have 5 or 6 horses and Carry out all the work for the monastery. In addition, 2 pigs which had to produce 15 or 16 piglets every year, a fat lamb and a ram and at Easter a fat calf.
These documents can be found in the Maastricht archives under no. 135 – 132 – 133 of the Crutched Friars archives…..”
Thomas Geraeds himself was the owner of the Cornelishof. In 2004 the Geraeds family had owned the farm for 100 years.
In 1784 the Crutched Friars Cloister was dissolved. Hereafter the property often changed hands due to sales or inheritance. During the French period the farm was in a poor state. In 1872 it became the property of the Guillon family. The buildings as we know them today were built by this family from 1888 onwards. The original shape consisted of two perpendicular buildings. In 1888 the present U-shape was built.